Something I thought I would never do…

I caved. I bought my son Crocs. I said I would not do it. But after sitting 15 minutes waiting for him to get his socks on, I bit the bullet. The kid is 6 and still does not have the ability to tie his own shoes. His fingers are too chubby. No joke. It is really hard for him to grasp the idea of grabbing 2 loops and knotting them. So now we are the proud owners of a pair of navy crocs. That I can fit my foot into!

This morning at the lovely hour of 3am, I woke to the sound of raccoons in my front yard. I feed the birds, so there is usually a raccoon or 2 feeding on the leftovers (after they have torn apart my garbage). So this morning there are 4 of them, one a big fat guy that was the size of a medium dog. A well-fed medium dog. We have a ducks nest with eggs in the center of our court, or at least, we had one. These guys thought that some eggs would taste ggod with their sunflower seeds and corn, and proceeded to eat all 11 eggs. I even ran out and tried to scare them away. (That must have been a sight!) No luck, they just went right back and cleared out her nest. I have no idea what happened to the momma duck. Her hubby was here this morning looking for her. I actually had tears in my eyes when I had to tell the kids. They were so looking forward to the ducklings hatching. So was I. Nature sometimes sucks the big one. Sleep was very hard to come by after that. My eye bags have bags.

The one remaining male beta fish we had also decided it was a good time to kick the bucket too. I knew it was coming, but it did not make a rough morning any easier. We had him for over 2 years, so I should be happy, but again, nature sucks.

Then, I had to register my baby for kindergarten today. It seems it was only yesterday that I got the wonderful news I was pregnant with her. Now she will be in school everyday in a few short months. UGH!

Tags:

One Response to “Something I thought I would never do…”

  1. Becky Says:

    Ben loves his Crocs. I think they’re nasty. But I’m not cool anymore apparently.

Leave a comment